# The Connecticut General Assembly

### **REAPPORTIONMENT COMMITTEE**

#### SENATE

Senator Donald E. Williams, Jr., Co-Chair

Senator John McKinney Senator Martin M. Looney Senator Leonard A. Fasano

Sandra Norman-Eady, Project Coordinator



#### HOUSE

Representative Lawrence F. Cafero, Jr., Co-Chair

Representative Christopher G. Donovan Representative Sandy H. Nafis Representative Arthur J. O'Neill

## REAPPORTIONMENT COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES SEPTEMBER 13, 2011 1:00 PM in Hearing Room 1D

Representative Cafero called the meeting to order at 1:12 P.M.

The following committee members were present:

- Senators: Donald E. Williams, Jr., 29; John McKinney, 28; Martin M. Looney, 11; Leonard A. Fasano, 34
- Representatives: Lawrence F. Cafero, 142; Christopher G. Donovan, 84; Sandy H. Nafis, 27; Arthur J. O'Neill, 69
- I. Approval of the August 17, 2011 Minutes.

A motion was made by Senator Williams and seconded by Representative O'Neill to approve the August 17, 2011 minutes. The motion was approved by a voice vote.

Representative Cafero asked that everyone observe a moment of silence for former Speaker of the House Nelson Brown who passed away last week. Speaker Brown, Representative Cafero stated, was an integral part of the 1991 and 2001 Reapportionment commissions; on which he served as the ninth commission member. After the moment of silence, Representative Cafero gave the following committee update:

"Since this committee first met on April 8<sup>th</sup> of this year, we have collectively been working to accomplish our constitutional obligation of agreeing on a redistricting and reapportionment plan for the State House, State Senate, and the Congressional districts. Over these five months, we have:

- Conducted six public hearings across the state to gather information directly from our fellow residents;
- Established mechanisms by which the public may submit their input directly to the committee;
- Developed resources to educate both ourselves and our constituents about the redistricting process; and,
- Met to negotiate new districting plans consistent with constitutional and statutory districting principles.

We have made every practicable effort to observe the legislative deadline of September 15<sup>th</sup>, which is this Thursday. Despite these efforts, it has become clear that we will not be able to reach a bipartisan agreement by that time, and thus will have to move to the second phase of this process.

Article III, Section 6, Subsection (b) of the Connecticut Constitution (as amended), provides in pertinent part:

If the general assembly fails to adopt a plan of districting by the fifteenth day of September [...] the governor shall forthwith appoint a commission designated by the president pro tempore of the senate, the speaker of the house of representatives, the minority leader of the senate and the minority leader of the house of representatives, each of whom shall designate two members of the commission [...]. The eight members of the commission so designated shall within thirty days select an elector of the state as a ninth member.

As further provided in Article III, Section 6, Subsection (c) (as amended), once a districting plan receives the certification of five or more members of the commission, that plan will have full force of law. The commission has a constitutional deadline of November 30<sup>th</sup> to complete its work. There is historical precedent for this procedure, as (at least) the past two redistricting cycles went to the commission process.

It is the intention of the legislative leadership to formally notify Governor Malloy of our commission selections immediately after the September 15<sup>th</sup> deadline passes.

Coming to a bipartisan agreement on a ten-year districting plan that respects the principle of "one person, one vote," and brings balance to the voters' expressed preferences, is a daunting task. However, we have taken great care to maintain a respectful and productive level of discourse in our dealings, consistent with the bipartisan spirit of this constitutionally-mandated process. It is my expectation that we will continue in that fashion as we move into the commission phase and we ask for the continued patience of our fellow residents as we strive to complete our work by November 30<sup>th</sup>.

Additionally, this committee would like to thank the nonpartisan staff from the Office of Legislative Research, the Office of Legislative Management, and Information and Technology Services for their great assistance during the committee phase. We ask that they prepare themselves for continuing that support throughout the commission process."

Senator Williams agreed with Representative Cafero and looked forward to moving ahead with the process. Representative Donovan thanked the committee and staff for their work and the public for their participation. Senator McKinney thanked staff and made it clear that partisan rancor was not the reason for the failure to meet the deadline. To the contrary, he stated that the committee worked hard together to complete its important and enormous task. Senator Looney seconded Senator McKinney's comments and also stated that when it comes time to select a ninth member it will be critically important for the Reapportionment Commission to agree on someone who fits the profile of the late Nelson Brown, who was extraordinarily well respected by both parties and a senior statesman who understood the General Assembly.

A motion was made by Representative O'Neill and seconded by Senator Williams to adjourn the meeting. The meeting was adjourned at 1:19 P.M.

Sandra Forte'